We gratefully acknowledge support from
the Simons Foundation and member institutions.
Full-text links:

Download:

Current browse context:

math.CA
new | recent | 1807

Change to browse by:

References & Citations

Bookmark

BibSonomy logo Mendeley logo Reddit logo ScienceWISE logo

Mathematics > Classical Analysis and ODEs

Title:Maximal directional operators along algebraic varieties

Abstract: We establish the sharp growth order, up to epsilon losses, of the $L^2$-norm of the maximal directional averaging operator along a finite subset $V$ of a polynomial variety of arbitrary dimension $m$, in terms of cardinality. This is an extension of the works by Córdoba, for one-dimensional manifolds, Katz for the circle in two dimensions, and Demeter for the 2-sphere. For the case of directions on the two-dimensional sphere we improve by a factor of $\sqrt{\log N}$ on the best known bound, due to Demeter, and we obtain a sharp estimate for our model operator. Our results imply new $L^2$-estimates for Kakeya-type maximal functions with tubes pointing along polynomial directions. Our proof technique is novel and in particular incorporates an iterated scheme of polynomial partitioning on varieties adapted to directional operators, in the vein of Guth, Guth-Katz, et. al.
Comments: 32 pages, submitted for publication
Subjects: Classical Analysis and ODEs (math.CA)
MSC classes: 42B25 (Primary) 42B20 (Secondary)
Cite as: arXiv:1807.08255 [math.CA]
  (or arXiv:1807.08255v1 [math.CA] for this version)

Submission history

From: Ioannis Parissis [view email]
[v1] Sun, 22 Jul 2018 08:09:44 UTC (39 KB)